|Raspberry Banana Tea Bread|
Teatime is my favorite time of the day, as well as one of my favorite ways to celebrate. Going gluten-free makes my usual menu of scones, finger sandwiches and pastries a bit challenging to make. My first attempt at an allergy-free (we also can't eat eggs, dairy, or corn) tea bread was a bit heavy (see Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread in an earlier post). For that loaf, I used only quinoa flour, and the moisture came from a can of mashed pumpkin, which is awfully thick all by itself.
This Raspberry Banana Bread represents the next generation of my teatime baking. I've switched out half of the quinoa flour for oat flour (see note about gluten), and traded raw sugar for agave nectar. The result is a lighter, smoother loaf. The finished product is a more appealing color as well, and the raspberries give it a festive look.
Raspberry Banana Tea Bread
1/2 cup rice milk
1 cup agave nectar or coconut syrup
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups quinoa flour
2 cups oat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup raspberry jam (all-fruit)
1/2 pint of fresh raspberries
In a large mixing bowl, mash the two bananas with rice milk. If you like, use an immersion blender for smoother consistency -- otherwise a fork works fine too. Mix in agave and vanilla. Dump in both flours, baking soda and salt. Mix well. As this is a very thick batter, the order in which you add the last three ingredients makes a difference to the appearance of your finished product. First mix in the chocolate chips, then cut in the jam carefully to make swirls in the baked bread. Then set out two loaf pans. Spoon just enough batter to cover the bottom of each pan. Place 5 or 6 fresh raspberries in each pan, then cover them with more batter. Alternate until your batter is all in the pans. Top each loaf with a few more raspberries, and push them into the batter. Bake at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes. Let cook before slicing. These keep best in the fridge, where the cold helps firm up their insides to make slicing neater.
(* A note about oat flour: While oats do not contain gluten, certain brands are processed on equipment that also processes wheat, and cross-contamination can occur. Look for brands that are certified gluten-free.)
*** Follow Helene's Legacy on Facebook ***